We Have A Dream


SPECIAL OFFERAll copies purchased through this webshop, will be signed by Tutu Puoane.

Music provides comfort when the world is burning up. We Have A Dream joins the many records generated from this idea. 

We Have A Dream is a musical project devoted to human rights. It presents new arrangements of great pop, rock, soul and jazz songs. Singer Tutu Puoane, from Antwerp with South African roots, sings with a raised fist, an indictment – a call for justice. From Stevie Wonder to Marvin Gaye, from Nina Simone to Sting, and from Rod Stewart to Donny Hathaway: each and every number in this album is a powerful message about injustice, oppression and inequality. Their universal message of hope is relevant today, more than ever. 

The songs were arranged for jazz orchestra by arrangers from Brussels Jazz Orchestra as well as others (Bert Joris, Michell Herr, Gyuri Spies, Lode Mertens and Alan Ferber). The result is an exciting, daring and universally accessible mix of sounds and styles, in which Tutu’s great voice is supported and surrounded by the unique sound of the Brussels Jazz Orchestra. 

In partnership with Amnesty International Belgium.  

Tutu Puoane about We Have A Dream: "As a musician/artist, you sometimes wish that you can sing or write that one song that will wipe out racism, poverty, war and all injustices in the world. Sadly, songs can only shine a light on these matters but not necessarily change anything. We, musicians/artists, keep trying either way!”


  1. Why? (The King of Love is Dead) by Nina Simone, Arr. Michel Herr
  2. Big Yellow Taxi by Joni Mitchell, Arr. Alan Ferber
  3. They Dance Alone by Sting, Arr. Bert Joris
  4. Not Yet Uhuru by Letta Mbulu, Arr. Tutu Puoane
  5. Four Women by Nina Simone, Arr. Gyuri Spies
  6. The Killing Of Georgie by Rod Stewart, Arr. Gyuri Spies
  7. Cherokee Louise by Joni Mitchell, Arr. Alan Ferber
  8. Inner City Blues (Make me Wanna Holler) by Marvin Gaye, Arr. Lode Mertens
  9. Someday We’ll All Be Free by Edward Howard, Arr. Bert Joris
  10. It’s Not Easy Being Green by Joe Raposo, Arr. Michel Herr
  11. Heaven Help Us All by Stevie Wonder, Arr. Michel Herr
  12. War by Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong, Arr. Bert Joris


Recorded at De Kampanje in Steenhuffel, Belgium on June 29th and 30th 2017

Producer: Frank Vaganée

Executive producers: BJO vzw (Koen Maes), SoulFactory Records (Ewout Pierreux)

Recording engineer: Gyuri Spies

Editing and Mixing engineer: Gyuri Spies, assisted by Frank Vaganée

Master engineer: Darcy Proper at Wisseloord Studios, Hilversum, The Netherlands

With the support of the Flemish Government – Music Department